Home Industry and Commerce Town Council Bolton Council – Local Elections – Chairman & Vice Chairman Beaten

Bolton Council – Local Elections – Chairman & Vice Chairman Beaten

April 1927

Mexborough and Swinton Times April 8, 1927

Local Elections

Bolton on Dearne

Chairman and Vice Chairman Beaten
Socialists Sweep the Deck

The socialists triumphed at Bolton and won all four seats.

Two of the retiring members, both old members, Messrs CW Newall and J Taylor were defeated. Mr Taylor was chairman of the Council and Mr Newall, Vice Chairman.

As at Thurnscoe the poll was a record. The only candidate offering a plain challenge to the Socialist was a woman, Mrs Bertha Spencer, who contested for the first time, and polled splendidly but was just out.

It was 11 o’clock when the result was declared and for an hour and eager crowd had been waiting in the rain.

When Mr J Ledger Hawksworth declared the polll there was loud cheering and the crowd sang “The Red Flag.”

The socialists now hold eight of the 12 seats on the Council.

Their nominees are Messrs Swift, Vaughan, Probert, Barker, Griffiths, Betty, Rumble and Fouchard.

The Independent members are Messrs J.R.Horn, Edwards, Cornwood and Fowler.

The results were:


D Griffiths (Labour) 1243

G Rumble (Labour) 1234

A Fouchard (Labour) 1228

J Petty (Labour) 1171

Not Elected

Bertha Spencer (Independent) 1035

PT Phelan (Independent) 670

CW knew all (independent) 492

T Taylor (Independent) 489

Edith A Horsefall (Independent) 376